Newest Tool

13 Oct

Photo403

I have been needing a table saw to work on some projects around the homestead such as ripping some OSB to finish the interior walls of the shop. I also plan on making some shelves but the first project I need to work on is a winter home for the dogs. I already have the plans drawn up in my head and this saw should come in handy. I had intended to wait until Christmas for the sales to begin before I bought but I got an e-mail offer from Sears and I decided it was worth a look. I read the online reviews and most were positive for the most part and my review is also positive for the most part. The saw was originally $285 on sale for &235 and I had a coupon for an additional 10% off and I had it shipped to my local store free of charge. I knew at that price this saw was not going to be a heavy-duty model. As I said I bought this on-line, and to be honest if I had put my hands on this saw at the store I probably would have waited for a better model although it should be good enough for my needs. If you were building a house and ripping a lot of 4X8 sheets of 3/4 inch plywood it would not hold up. The fence and miter gauge are pretty light weight and Mickey-Mouse so you would not want to try to make some professional kitchen cabinets. But for making shelves for the workshop or dog houses and bird houses it should be good enough. Some day I might get around to getting a really good saw if I can catch one on sale then I can sell this one in the shoppers guide or just put it back and save it “just in case”. If times get tough I might just barter it for something else I need. Be Prepared! P.S. It took me 3 hours to put this saw together and get it adjusted correctly. It was obvious the directions were written by some Chinese dude who only ‘sorta’ spoke English!

2 Responses to “Newest Tool”

  1. pioneer Preppy October 13, 2012 at 10:13 pm #

    It looks good enough to get some serious projects finished though. Not that I really know alot about table saws or anything. I sure could use one though I am envious 🙂

    • doublebhomestead October 14, 2012 at 2:58 pm #

      I have used several table saws in my time, so I had a good idea what to expect from this saw. I used it a while yesterday and I am sure it will meet my needs for the time being.

Leave a Reply

