Yardsale Treasure

30 Sep

Photo388

Some of you might remember I found one of these Burton propane stoves at a flea market. Well, I found this one at a yard sale with a canister of propane included for $8,,,SCORE!  I have two of these exactly alike. Great little stoves for indoor emergency use.

Photo389

I found this nasty looking creature in the road today. I don’t know what kind he was, but he is now recently departed to the next realm. The weather is definitely taking on a Fall feeling. The temperatures have moderated and we have started to get weekly rains now that it is too late to do the crops any good. We need 6 weeks of dry weather, then it can rain cats and dogs for all I care.

4 Responses to “Yardsale Treasure”

  1. pioneer Preppy September 30, 2012 at 8:15 pm #

    Nice find on the stove!!!

    Isn’t that just a black rat snake? Kinda small to be all black yet though but the scale maybe smaller looking in the pic than it was in real life.

  2. doublebhomestead September 30, 2012 at 10:13 pm #

    That snake was about 24 inches long. I ran over him with my truck before I took that picture. He was dark brown, like a cottonmouth, but the head was all wrong.

  3. carynverell October 1, 2012 at 9:14 pm #

    yep, that is a black rat snake…shame you ran over him…they feed on those pesky varmints that like to make themselves at home under and inside your sheds, barns and the like. they are usually more afraid of us then we are of them. my hubby has a huge one living under the workshop floor..keeps the mice population down out there. say, that propane stove is looking like it is brand new never used…great buy!

    • doublebhomestead October 2, 2012 at 9:13 am #

      You are correct, that stove has never been used. When the electricity goes out this winter, I am going to use it to heat up some of my canned goods and enjoy a good, hearty meal while the unprepared are eating cold soup. I don’t think I could stand having a snake in my shop, one of us would have to go! I wonder if that is the kind of snake we called a chicken snake when we were young? I remember they were black and you would often find them around chicken coops.

Leave a Reply

