Wal-Mart Thieves

26 Sep

Sweet Thing sent me this picture yesterday from Wal-Mart.

Shoes

Someone took off their old nasty shoes and put on a new pair and walked out with them on. She said times must be getting really hard for some people if they are willing to go to jail for a pair of $2 flip-flops. I told her the person that did that didn’t do it because they really needed the shoes, they just did it because they thought they could get away with it. So many people think the world owes them everything they need. They think life is unfair because other people have things because they are lucky and they don’t have things because they are unlucky. I get disgusted when I hear that because I know I work 70 hours a week most of the year to get what I have. And I have been frugal and saved my money all my life instead of splurging on all the fun things many people seem to need to possess. But, I guess luck does play a role in what happens to people. There is a saying,  “There but for the grace of God go I”, and that is true, and I have a hard time remembering that. I find it hard to have sympathy for people less fortunate than me if I feel that their problems are caused by their own bad choices. I like to think I would never be like that, I would be better than that. But when you think about it, if I had been switched at birth in the hospital and I had been raised in their circumstance instead of the loving and moral family I was raised in, I would probably be making the same bad decisions they are making. It makes me remember to give thanks for the wonderful life I have, and reminds me how lucky I am for the loving family and friends I am surrounded by. So if you are feeling a little down in the dumps, just think about how much more fortunate you are than many other people and give thanks for it. Then you can still rant and rave about the “give me” segment of society we have, because I will be doing it more and more between now and the election, I just won’t be able to help myself. Be thankful for what you have!

2 Responses to “Wal-Mart Thieves”

  1. Beatrice P. Boyd September 28, 2012 at 6:47 pm #

    Can’t say that I disagree with nearly everything said in your post, but there may well be some folks who really can’t afford even a $2 pair of flip-flops…however, that does not mean they should swap out. Like you we also worked hard all our working years and while we don’t live extravagantly by any means, we do like to treat ourselves by taking road trips to see family and parts of the U.S.

    • doublebhomestead September 28, 2012 at 11:20 pm #

      Beatrice, I’m glad you are able to travel around now and get to enjoy yourselves. I plan on slowing down now, and enjoying staying put on our new homestead. I see dogs, cats, chickens, goats, game birds and rabbits in my future!

Leave a Reply

