Tuesday Tunes; Creedence Clearwater Revival, I Put A Spell On You

4 Sep

This is one of my favorite CCR songs because I have a story to go along with the first time I heard it. A friend and I were leaving his house one Friday after we came home from school. We were walking through the neighborhood, going to do whatever mischief 12 year old boys tend to do. As we were walking past his next door neighbors house we heard music playing. The man and his wife were out on the concrete carport and they were dancing to this song. So, these two grown-ups were dancing, in the middle of the afternoon, right out in front of God and everybody! My friend and I looked at each other, then back at the neighbors, then back at each other, and we both had this expression on our faces.

images

WHAT THA????, We could not believe what we were seeing. We had never seen adults dancing before. Oh sure, we watched American Bandstand on Saturdays, but that was a bunch of teenagers. And we had seen movies and TV shows with adults ballroom dancing, but never in real life had we seen adults dancing. They were twirling around, holding each other, all the while giggling and laughing. We were shocked! Even at 12 years of age we knew something was up. It was positively scandalous! His family attended the Methodist Church and mine attended the Baptist Church, he had never seen his parents dance, and I had never seen mine. As a matter of fact, I still have never seen my parents dance. That is just one of those childhood memories that stay with you forever. It is funny how the human brain works. I can’t for the life of me remember how to figure the area of a circle, but I can remember every detail of that day just like it happened yesterday! Strange goings on in my head.!Hot smile

2 Responses to “Tuesday Tunes; Creedence Clearwater Revival, I Put A Spell On You”

  1. Cathy September 5, 2012 at 2:19 pm #

    Sounds like you “had a spell put on you”!

    • doublebhomestead September 5, 2012 at 6:56 pm #

      Cathy, I guess so. It sure is strange the things you remember from childhood.

Leave a Reply

