Construction Update 20

15 Aug

A crew came in today and started blowing in the insulation. I have never seen insulation for the walls of a house blown in before, only the attic. I wanted to document this as well as I could. I will try to explain what is happening in the following pictures.

P1010402

Starting out the walls look like this.

P1010407

After the crew is finished, the walls look like this. Every nook and cranny and crack is sealed.

P1010403

This was a 3 man crew on this job. Here the spray man is adjusting the sprayer to get the right amount of water to spray along with the cellulose to help it stick to the wall.

P1010401

After they spray the walls, they use this tool to scrape off the excess insulation and make it smooth and even.

P1010406

On the left side you can see the walls after the insulation was blown. On the right side you see what it looks like after the excess has been removed.

P1010408

One person does the spraying, one person scrapes off the excess, and another person vacuums up the excess to go back into the sprayer to be blown into the wall again. No waste! You can see how messy this is by the spots on the camera lens. As I was taking these pictures, I had a hospital mask on, but as you can see none of the work crew wore a mask. I couldn’t believe it, but this crew has been doing this a long time and they came highly recommended. I would hate to see what the inside of their lungs look like!

3 Responses to “Construction Update 20”

  1. Annie August 15, 2012 at 10:21 pm #

    I have never seen wall insulation done that way either. Looks pretty cool though! Absolutely idiotic of them not to be wearing masks or respirators with that.

    • doublebhomestead August 15, 2012 at 10:43 pm #

      Yeah, I was only going to be there a few minutes and I knew I wanted a mask. If I was going to do that every day, I would have a high quality respirator even if I had to pay for it out of my pocket!

  2. Connor August 16, 2012 at 6:40 am #

    Interesting.

Leave a Reply

