Diesel Storage

10 Aug

I have been wanting to have a tank to store diesel for long-term storage. After doing some research, I think I can store diesel for a few years in a metal tank. If you put some fuel conditioner in the tank and keep it out of the sun to reduce moisture condensation, you can store diesel much longer than gasoline. Even the used tanks I have found on Craig’s List and the Shopper’s Guide sell for $200 or more, so I came up with another idea. One of my farmers uses old oil barrels as fuel tanks to supply his power units for his irrigation systems. He had a big stack of the drums behind his shop so I asked for a couple. He said get all I wanted, so I got 2 of them, 55 gallons each. The drums held 15-40W synthetic motor oil so I knew I needed to clean them out. I put 2 gallons of Diesel in each and started to roll them around and slosh them around to get the oil cleaned out. Then I had a brainstorm, there has to be an easier way!

Photo225

I strapped one into the bucket of the front end loader and started bush hogging around the homestead. I was turning left and right, going forward and backward, up and down the hills, and generally just bouncing all around the place. I rolled the barrel over occasionally so all parts of the drum got rinsed. That did more sloshing around than I would have done manually, so brains triumphed over brawn once again! I am thinking about keeping the drums inside the shop, out of the sun and drawing my fuel out of one drum until empty, then refilling it and drawing out of the second drum so I will have a fresh supply, and yet I will always have at least 55 gallons on hand in case of emergency. does this sound like a good idea?

6 Responses to “Diesel Storage”

  1. carynverell August 10, 2012 at 9:03 pm #

    if you use diesel fuel, it is a really good idea! we have to store ethanol free gasoline for our ecquipment (ethanol tends to corrode our engines etc… our ecquipment is a tad old) and so we keep a good store of the fuel additive too. prices on gas and diesel are up and going up more again. if anyone but obama gets elected to office, he or she is gonna really have their work cut out for them.

    • doublebhomestead August 10, 2012 at 10:06 pm #

      I think Obama will be reelected, so be afraid, be very afraid.

  2. Jimmy Cracked-Corn August 11, 2012 at 11:39 am #

    That was a great way to kill two birds with one stone.

  3. Connor August 11, 2012 at 3:48 pm #

    What a nice find. Wish I could find a couple of drums myself. Do you plan on mounting them on a stand with a gravity hose for easier emptying?

    No way Obama wins this time but if he does it is going to get ugly I think.

    • doublebhomestead August 11, 2012 at 8:22 pm #

      No, that will make them too hard to fill. I am going to get a battery powered pump at Harbor Freight and a hand powered pump for backup in case SHTF!

Leave a Reply

