Salvaged Wood

9 Aug

P1010383

This is a big pile of wood the carpenters threw into the scrap heap while they were working. Most of the major framing has been done so there shouldn’t be too much more. But I got every last scrap they threw on the pile because I paid for it! I will find some use for it even if it is just firewood. I will sort through the pile before we get our winter rains. ( Yeah, like that will ever happen! ) I will put the larger pieces in the shop for later projects and put the very small pieces in this wooden box I built.

P1010382

I built this box out of an old pallet and scraps of OSB the carpenters threw away. I am going to put it in my shop near my wood burning stove to hold some of the very small pieces of wood that are too small to be of much use. When that is all gone I will use the wood box to hold small limbs and branches to be placed in the stove. I found a use for the cast-offs already!

P1010388

I even used salvaged nails on this project. The roofers use a pneumatic air hammer to nail the shingles down, and the nails come in big, long belts of nails much like an ammo belt for a machine gun. When the nail belt has a mis-feed, they just throw the remainder on the ground and put a new belt in the air gun. I took some snips and cut them apart and they work just fine. No waste!

2 Responses to “Salvaged Wood”

  1. Connor August 9, 2012 at 9:45 pm #

    That’s a big pile of wood. I get so much use out of scrap lumber from just my own usage you have hit a gold mine or well since you paid for it anyway I guess not but a very smart move to keep it even with the new home excitement building.

    • doublebhomestead August 9, 2012 at 10:11 pm #

      I have always been a salvager, even if I don’t need it right now, who knows what may be useful in the future.

Leave a Reply

