Dirtbikes

2 Aug

 

I have mentioned riding a dirt bike when I check my fields each week, but I don’t think I have shown you a picture.

Photo194

I ride this through the field, stopping to get off and check the crop in different places in the field. It is a Honda CRF 150F, and it lets me see a lot more of the field and cover a lot more ground than if I was walking.

Photo195

This is my sweep net. It is like a large, heavy-duty butterfly net. I sweep it through the canopy of the crop a certain number of times and then count how many of each insect I find. If I find a certain number of a particular insect, such as stinkbugs or corn earworms for instance, I will recommend the farmer to spray that field. I do this over and over all day long, sometimes I really get sick of looking at bugs!

Leave a Reply

