Owls

31 Jul

I was driving down the interstate today and I thought I saw an owl on the shoulder of the road. I was coming upon a turn across for authorized vehicles, so I authorized myself to turn around to have a look. Sure enough, there was a dead owl, obviously hit by a car during the night. You don’t get to see one up close and personal like this too often, so I checked him out before leaving him in the grass on the shoulder of the road. I don’t know if owls are protected species or not, but I was about to go check some fields inside a wildlife refuge and I certainly didn’t want it to be riding in the back of my truck.

Photo182

He has a wingspan of about 36 inches.

Photo184

Photo185

I was really surprised how soft and downy the feathers under the wings and on the breast were. They were so soft they didn’t feel like feathers at all, more like silk.

Photo183

But he did have some wicked looking talons. Anybody know what kind of owl this might be? I did a little Google research and I am pretty sure it is a Barn Owl.

4 Responses to “Owls”

  1. A'E July 31, 2012 at 11:32 pm #

    Yes,…… that beauty is a barn owl. Too terrible.
    http://www.burdr.com/2010/03/watch-molly-the-barn-owl-live-on-ustream/

    • doublebhomestead August 1, 2012 at 9:19 pm #

      Yes it is, especially since I read their main prey was voles. I hate voles!

  2. pioneerPreppy August 1, 2012 at 12:38 am #

    Did you have a storm down there last night? I have seen owls hit on stormy nights when they chase mice across highways. Doesn’t seem to happen near as much when there isn’t lightening going off though.

    • doublebhomestead August 1, 2012 at 9:20 pm #

      I don’t remember that, but it could have been. Most likely just too much speed on the interstate for the owl to dodge.

Leave a Reply

