Old Wrench

20 Jul

No, I said wrench!

Photo075

As I was cleaning around the homestead, I found this old wrench. It is a fairly large size and probably made for a specific purpose, although I don’t know what it might have been. One end is the wrench, and the other is a sort of pry-bar. From the looks of it, the wrench was factory made and not home-made. It might have been used on something like a hay bailer or combine. Who knows?                    I also found this metal hook buried in the fenceline. It is attached to something fairly solid, I am going to dig it up this winter and see what it is. It may be attached to that treasure chest Sweet Thing is convinced is buried on our homestead! But then again, it might just be a metal rod with a hook on the end buried in the dirt.

6 Responses to “Old Wrench”

  1. pioneerPreppy July 20, 2012 at 8:26 pm #

    MMMM Treasure!!!

    • doublebhomestead July 20, 2012 at 8:57 pm #

      ARRRRR! 16 men on a dead man’s chest, yo ho ho and a bottle of rum!

  2. The Grey Enigma July 20, 2012 at 8:53 pm #

    Spud wrench (also called an erection wrench [really]) I know that those sorts of wrenches are used by iron workers to align adjacent pieces of steel by temporarily pinning these pieces in place, via the pre-drilled holes in the steel, using the tapered end.

  3. doublebhomestead July 20, 2012 at 8:59 pm #

    BAM! That is the sound of you dropping a load of knowledge on my head! I googled spud wrench and you are right on the money, I learned something today.

  4. Jimmy Cracked-Corn July 20, 2012 at 10:32 pm #

    I have a few of those hook things in my yard to keep the kids from swinging the swingset over. They have big 4-6 inch self-drilling circular vanes on them so they’ll stay where you twist them in. You can buy them at the farm store up to 36 inches long.

    • doublebhomestead July 20, 2012 at 10:53 pm #

      I don’t think so. The shaft is an inch in diameter, and where it is located is in the fence line. I really think it is a piece of old farm equipment thrown by the fence to keep it out of the way. Over time, it has become buried under the dirt.

Leave a Reply

