Heirloom Tomatoes

15 Jul

Photo167

Sweet Thing came home from the Ripley Tomato Festival with these Heirloom tomatoes. I tried them and I can almost eat them. They are not pretty, as is the case with most heirloom vegetables. She said they were really tasty, some of the best she ever ate. I am going to try to save the seeds out of one of them and see if I can raise some on the homestead next year. Maybe I can develop a taste for raw tomatoes, I know they would be good for me. Any of you have any favorite heirloom vegetables you like?

4 Responses to “Heirloom Tomatoes”

  1. pioneerPreppy July 15, 2012 at 9:59 pm #

    Japanese Black Truffle hands down. Followed by Brandywine pink or orange and Lemon Boy.

  2. Annie July 15, 2012 at 11:20 pm #

    Oooh, I love about any kind of heirloom. Black Krim, Black Cherry and Rutgers tomatoes. Sliver queen corn. Rocky Ford cantaloupes. Oh, Moon and Stars watermelons.

    • doublebhomestead July 16, 2012 at 8:43 am #

      I think all heirlooms have a better taste than the hybrids, they just have flaws that make them unsuitable for commercial sale.

Leave a Reply

