Honey Bees

14 Jul

Photo143

Photo090

I have a lot of Honey Bee hives around my fields like this trailer shown here. I intend to have hives on the homestead when we get settled in. It might seem like a lot of trouble now, but someday beekeeping may become a valuable skill to possess. When it comes to carpentry, I can build anything. When it comes to gardening, I can grow anything. If I could learn beekeeping, that would be three skills I could use when SHTF. All the bees were buzzing around happily except that one clump of bees in the corner of that one box. I don’t know what was going on there. Maybe Pioneer Preppy will see this and let us know what is going on, or maybe some of the rest of you keep bees. By the way, I was around some other hives last week and I was about 100 feet away and one of the bees stung me on the forehead for no reason! That is the first time I have been stung working near a hive in all the years I have been doing this. But I will not be deterred, I still will keep bees someday.

8 Responses to “Honey Bees”

  1. carynverell July 14, 2012 at 9:01 pm #

    that is alot of bees! i have had alot of bees working in my gardens this year which has surprised me. i wish i could get a beekeeper to put a few hives on my place but so far no luck. you are right…like most old skills to have, there are not too many who do it these days. my brother in law and niece took classes and bought all the stuff to beekeep with but so far i have not heard or seen them working at it much.

    • doublebhomestead July 14, 2012 at 10:12 pm #

      Skills are one thing the government can’t confiscate from you.

  2. pioneerPreppy July 14, 2012 at 9:56 pm #

    My guess judging by the number of bees and the sunlight angle is that that particular hive is getting much warmer inside than the others which appear to be a bit more shaded or may have less bees overall making it hot. Anyway what they are doing is called bearding and when the hive gets too hot the queen emits a pheromone that makes the nurse and cleaning/feeding bees go outside so the hive can be cooled down a bit. It’s a normal behavior especially for hives with solid bottom boards in hot weather.

    As far as you getting stung bee hives get more aggressive as 1. they get larger and 2. when there isn’t much to forage on or it is late in the Summer/Fall. Their typical gentle behavior goes away because their group survival instinct tells them to protect the honey at all cost. I would imagine if you are as dry down there as we are up here in the middle of the State then the bees down there have went into major dearth shut down mode and are getting very protective.

    My hives are not building up and have thrown the drones out already it’s been so dry and my larger hives will definitely give me a head butt when I get within 15 feet or so of their hives now. I would imagine many people are getting stung these days from hives they had never noticed before as well.

    • doublebhomestead July 14, 2012 at 10:11 pm #

      Thanks, that explains the aggressive behavior. We finally got some much needed rain, but we are still in a severe drought.

  3. thelittlebrother July 15, 2012 at 12:54 pm #

    On Mother’s Day of this year, a swarm of wild honey bees ‘swarmed’ our apple tree. We called in Bill Raphael, a 6th generation bee keeper, to rescue them as we are located in the outskirts of a big city, &, they did not continue on by day break.

    This is perhaps the NOBLEST of all professions….& as you may know, the honey bees are dying off worldwide.

    Contact this man. http://www.beeguy.com He is a bible on Honey bees!

    P.S. Shortly after that, the Robins built a nest there.

    • doublebhomestead July 15, 2012 at 8:57 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by today. Yes the bees are dying off due to some unknown reasons, so more people need to keep them and keep them going.

  4. Andrew July 16, 2012 at 7:53 pm #

    Swamp Dog,

    Mark used to keep bees, and still might now that they’ve moved. He might be able to give you a hand or some pointers on getting set up. If he can find a blacksmith workshop nearby, he’ll be hooked.

    Andrew

Leave a Reply

