Brown Recluse Spider

6 Jul

This post may get a little long and rambling, so stick with me. I was chewing some gum today and it reminded me of an incident that happened a few years ago.

Photo113

Photo112

The gum I am going to talk about was in a package just like this, only the pack was half full. One Sunday morning, Sweet Thing was getting dressed for church and as I was waiting for her to finish ( like usual ) I went out to get the morning paper. As I was going out the door, I noticed a package of gumballs on the counter by the door. I picked them up and slid one of the gumballs out of the package like I was sliding a pea out of a pod. I popped it into my mouth and instantly felt a sharp stinging sensation on my tongue. I reached into my mouth, felt something moving, jerked it out and threw it down onto the counter. Wham! I looked and thought OH NO! That’s a spider and it looks like it may be a brown recluse!

brown_recluse2

That spider looked a whole lot like this one pictured above, although mine was a little smushed from being grabbed and thrown down onto the counter. I could only think about people I have known who had a spider bite and I could just imagine that rotting happening to my tongue. So I immediately decided to go to the Emergency Room to get an anti-venom shot to keep my tongue from rotting away. Now, I don’t talk a whole lot, but I do like to talk a little, so I would prefer to keep my tongue if at all possible. If you have not seen a Brown Recluse bite, they are very nasty. The flesh just rots away from the venom the spider injects into the flesh. I am going to include a picture of a bite, and if you are squeamish, you might want to scroll down past the picture quickly. All I could think about was my tongue looking like this.brown_spider2

Being involved with insects in my work, I had some small plastic specimen bottles in my office so I put the spider in one to take to the Emergency Room with me. Then I went to Sweet Thing and calmly and coolly said “YOU NEED TO HURRY AND GET DRESSED AND TAKE ME TO THE EMERGENCY ROOM I GOT BIT BY A SPIDER!” She said Oh no, I’ll be ready in just a minute. Where did it bite you? “THAT DOESN’T MATTER JUST HURRY UP!” I was sitting in the car with the engine running when she came out. As we were driving there she asked again “Where did you get bit?” I said on my tongue. She said ‘”ON YOUR TONGUE?” I explained how it happened and she just looked at me like I was an idiot. When the check-in nurse at the ER was filling out my report she asked where did you get bit. I said On my tongue and she said “ON YOUR TONGUE?” The next nurse in the ER said “ON YOUR TONGUE?” Then the ER Doctor said “ON YOUR TONGUE?” No one wanted to believe me I guess. Anyway the Dr. said he had worked in ER for 10 years and had seen hundreds of Brown Recluses, and this was NOT a Brown Recluse. So he gave me a tetanus shot and some Benadryl and sent me home with instructions to just monitor my tongue and come back if anything felt wrong. I looked in the mirror every 30 minutes and asked Sweet Thing does that red spot look bigger? Everything turned out OK, but I always tell people be careful chewing those gumballs, they can be dangerous! Be Safe!

7 Responses to “Brown Recluse Spider”

  1. pioneerPreppy July 6, 2012 at 10:24 pm #

    Well I guess it could have been worse. The spider could have been hiding in the toilet paper roll.

  2. carynverell July 6, 2012 at 10:49 pm #

    yes the brown recluse is a nasty mean thing for sure…and it was a very smart thing to do about getting your tongue to the emergency room! i hate spiders and this year i am hating ticks…my biggest fear is getting bit or having a tick in a spot i cannnot reach or see and not having hubby around to help.

    • doublebhomestead July 7, 2012 at 8:46 pm #

      Sounds like you need guinea hens, all the blogs say they will eliminate a tick problem.

  3. Lorilee July 7, 2012 at 12:06 am #

    Several years ago, my husband was working outside and had a glass of iced tea with him. He took a drink and felt something in his mouth. He spit the tea out and a spider unfurled itself and attempted to crawl away. Of course, he smoothed it.

  4. Lorilee July 7, 2012 at 12:07 am #

    Oops “smooshed” it.

    • doublebhomestead July 7, 2012 at 8:47 pm #

      You had it right the first time, sounds like he smoothed it out flat!

Leave a Reply

