Squash Casserole Recipe

26 Jun

Photo077

One of my readers asked for the squash casserole recipe so I had Sweet Thing write it up.                                                          

Photo131

I will try to recreate what I did,  I never use a recipe. I used  one large white squash (this is a flat saucer like shape), one large zucchini squash and two medium yellow crookneck squash. I added one Vidalia onion. I diced the squash to about three-quarter inch size squares and diced the onion very fine. I added salt, pepper to taste. I stirred in about three tablespoons butter and approximately three-fourths cup milk. I baked in a covered glass baking dish at 350 until the liquid had been absorbed. I left a little space between lid and dish so the steam would escape. I did not want too much liquid left. When the squash was tender and liquid absorbed I uncovered and topped with sliced Swiss cheese, the kind that comes individually wrapped. Melts quickly. I turned my oven down to warm and waited for Swamp Dog to get home from work. 

I found a powdered ham seasoning at the local Kroger and this is what I added to the green beans. This is the first time I have used and it was really good. Good flavor without the ham, which I did not have on hand.

Hope this turns out good,

Sweet Thing

2 Responses to “Squash Casserole Recipe”

  1. carynverell June 26, 2012 at 9:07 pm #

    thank you so much…gonna give this a try thursday evening of this week…it sounds very appealing to my taste buds as it does not have all that canned soup or creamy stuff in it. hope to have some slicing tomatoes to go on the side with it.:)

    • doublebhomestead June 26, 2012 at 9:12 pm #

      I hope you enjoy it, just be sure to use that big white squash. I think that helps keep the casserole from becoming mush. I’m not a tomato fan, but Sweet Thing loves them.

Leave a Reply

