Flowers

24 Jun

I took some more pictures of flowers this week.

P1010287

P1010288

I saw this hibiscus growing in the ditch alongside the road.

Photo068

I saw these light pink morningglories on the ditchbank.

Photo058

I was riding my ATV along a field edge and came upon a big bank of honeysuckle in bloom. The scent so intense it almost took my breath away.That is nothing compared to what a Gardenia will do to me. I like that smell so much I will just keep inhaling, forgetting to exhale. Sometimes I think I am going to swoon!

Photo100

But these are the prettiest flowers of all, cotton blooms. This is what makes my world go around, without these all else fails to naught. I will leave you with a famous quote to remember and repeat.

 

A rose by any other name would still smell just as sweet, but none is as lovely as a cotton blossom to a true Southern Belle.                  Swamp Dog

7 Responses to “Flowers”

  1. pioneerPreppy June 24, 2012 at 9:03 pm #

    No Honeysuckle up here yet. Unless we get some rain I doubt we will get much anyway. You can tell Okra and Cotton are related plants though.

    • doublebhomestead June 24, 2012 at 9:16 pm #

      Yes they both can stand a little dry weather, but not record drought like we are having now. Things don’t look too good for us right now, predicting temps in the upper 90’s this week, no rain.

  2. Wild Cookery! June 25, 2012 at 12:44 pm #

    Absolutely lovely pictures! 🙂

  3. forhisgloryandpraise June 25, 2012 at 6:52 pm #

    Congratulations, I just nominated you for the “Reader Appreciation Award”! Check out my post on it… http://forhisgloryandpraise.wordpress.com/2012/06/25/reader-appreciation-award-and-thanks-for-writing-award-27/

Leave a Reply

