Firewood Racks

29 Mar

A few weeks ago, Sweet Thing came home from the grand opening of a new Big Lots Store. She had some metal Firewood Racks that were on sale for 1/2 price ($15) as a grand opening special. I thought to myself these things have got to be some real pieces of Made In China POCs. But after I put them together they actually were sturdier than I thought they would be.

Photo616

Photo620

Now, do I expect to get years of service out of them? Certainly not! Maybe they will hold up until I can build some sturdy home-made racks. They came with a cheap plastic cover to put over the wood, but I don’t think I will use them. I am afraid the covers will just make the wood mold and mildew more than if I leave them uncovered. Has anyone had experience covering firewood with plastic? What do you think?

4 Responses to “Firewood Racks”

  1. rmactsc March 29, 2012 at 10:35 pm #

    I may have to try some of these firewood racks.

    • doublebhomestead March 29, 2012 at 11:09 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by. Those racks are not too bad, I built some today out of some scrap 2X4s and they will do just fine.

  2. pioneerPreppy March 30, 2012 at 11:03 pm #

    I typically only cover my firewood when rain or snow is forecast and then only the bit I have ready to burn. The long term stuff I don’t even bother to put under a roof anymore but leave it fully exposed. This actually will cause the wood to deteriorate more quickly but keeping it under a roof is only useful in my opinion if you are going to have it stored for years. Generally my wood is stored for only a year before it is used to dry out.

    • Swamp Dog March 31, 2012 at 12:22 am #

      Preppy, thanks for stopping by. I think I’ll just leave the wood uncovered.

Leave a comment