I Found a Balloon!

25 May

moto_1108

As I am checking fields each year, I probably find a Mylar balloon in some field at least 30 times. so if I can find that many how many are actually released and floating around? Hundreds of thousands? Millions? Who knows. It seems that at least one of the balloons will have a card requesting a return with the location where it was found. This week I found one from the First Baptist Church in Walnut Grove Missouri. I checked and it is approximately 200 miles away as the crow flies. I sent the card back but I didn’t include my name or return address, I didn’t want to end up on a mailing list and receive all their Baptist propaganda. HAHA! You might notice some of my library of books in the background of that picture.

P1020461

That little section contains:

The Self-Sufficient Life And How To Live It

The Complete Trees Of North America

The Complete Guide to Gardening

The Complete Outdoor Encyclopedia

P1020462

Right next to that section I have;

When Technology Fails

Basic Country Skills

Craft Wisdom And Know-How

Country Wisdom And Know-How

Survival Wisdom And Know-How

P1020460

The shelf right above that has;

The Complete Do-It-Yourself Manual

The Remodelers Handbook

How To Build Small Barns And Outbuildings

There is a world of useful information in those few books alone!

You can also see a jar of marbles I have picked up in the fields over the years and an antique gentleman’s valet with a bird dog figure. It looks like something from the 1950’s, I really like stuff from that time period. Keep prepping everyone!

4 Responses to “I Found a Balloon!”

  1. pioneer preppy May 25, 2014 at 10:04 pm #

    You have a problem with sacred Baptist teachings…. hmmmmm :)

  2. doublebhomestead May 26, 2014 at 7:14 am #

    Not really, I was raised in a Southern Baptist church so I know them too well.:)

  3. russell1200 May 27, 2014 at 9:37 pm #

    Do we get a prize for guessing the number of marbles in the jar? I am guessing 218!

    • doublebhomestead May 28, 2014 at 7:54 am #

      HAHA! I have no idea how many. I found 4 more this week but they will have to go in another jar.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 239 other followers

