Ice Storm Warning

24 Jan

The National Weather Service has issued an Ice Storm Warning for us this evening. That’s not what I want to hear. It is bad enough to get snow, but ice and freezing rain is all together a different matter. So, I spent a couple of hours getting prepared just in case.

moto_0041

I made sure all of our flashlights had good batteries and plenty of spares on hand.

moto_0034

I made sure I could find my small propane cylinders for my propane lanterns and cookers.

moto_0036

I checked out my kerosene heaters and made sure I had plenty of fuel.

moto_0037

I checked my propane heater and made sure I had extra fuel.

moto_0038

I made sure my firewood was stacked and accessible.

moto_0035

I checked my chainsaw in case I have to cut some downed trees or limbs.

Portable_vs__Standby_Generators_11106130_460

I made sure my generator was serviced up and ready to go.

emergency_radio_Grundig_FR400_big

I checked my emergency radio and made sure I had spare batteries. Yesterday I showed you the pantry, so you know I am OK as far as food supplies. I’m OK for extra water as well. I already have a post scheduled on that subject coming up in a day or two. So, it looks like I am all set if the storm hits, I sure hope I don’t need any of this stuff, but it sure feels good to know I have it if I need it.

5 Responses to “Ice Storm Warning”

  1. pioneer Preppy January 24, 2013 at 8:17 pm #

    Yes it does. Good for you!!!!

    Ice here in Missouri causes more issues than most people outside our tree blessed area really understand.

    Best to be ready.

    • doublebhomestead January 24, 2013 at 9:42 pm #

      The weatherman says you may get some winter storm as well. Good luck!

  2. Zombease January 24, 2013 at 11:12 pm #

    Best of luck, I’m glad to see you’re taking the warnings seriously!

    • Zombease January 24, 2013 at 11:13 pm #

      P.s. At least you wont have to worry about Zombies, right? http://zombease.com/2012/12/10/zombies-in-the-cold/

    • doublebhomestead January 25, 2013 at 8:37 am #

      Thanks for stopping by. Yes, it’s much better to be safe than sorry! As I am typing this at 7:30 this morning it is 32 degrees outside but cars are zipping down the highway doing 70 MPH so I guess we got lucky and missed the freezing rain.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 250 other followers

