Homemade Dog Feeder

26 Oct

P1010640

P1010637

Some of you will remember the two dogs I rescued after they were dumped and abandoned. They are pretty good dogs, except at feeding time, then they jump and carry on like they haven’t eaten in days. Sometimes we might need to be away and someone else besides me will need to feed them. I wanted to fix a way to feed them so you wouldn’t have to go inside the pen and get jumped on or have them bolt out through the gate. I came up with this idea for a feeding chute, and I had purchased the parts but I had not put it in yet. I was going to make a long funnel out of PVC pipe and a fitting.

P1010624

P1010625

P1010626

This would have been just fine, but I was in the store and I saw something I thought would be better.

P1010627

P1010628

This is a big, funnel looking device intended to slip over the vent pipes coming out of the roof of a house.

P1010629

I slipped it over the pipe and secured it with two screws.

P1010622

P1010623

Some of the fields I work have advertising signs in them during the year. After harvest I collect some of the signs for my own use. They are made out of what I call “plastic cardboard” and bolted onto steel posts. The signs make good shooting targets and the posts have numerous uses.

P1010641

I inserted the pipe through the fence, drove the steel stake into the ground and secured the pipe with heavy-duty cable ties. I drilled a hole in the bottom of the food dish for drainage in case of rain, then I secured the dish in place with three tent stakes. I tried it out and it works great! Now, if it all is just secure enough that the dogs can’t tear it apart I will be OK. You can just stand outside the fence and take a big cup of food and pour it into the funnel and the food just slides down into the dish. I made two of them, by the way, one for each dog. They don’t fight over food anymore, but they each have their own dish. I’ll let you know how smart I still think I am in a few days!

4 Responses to “Homemade Dog Feeder”

  1. carynverell October 27, 2012 at 6:34 pm #

    neat idea….and those pooches sure are looking handsome compared to their just found look. are you doing any kind of training with them?

    • doublebhomestead October 28, 2012 at 12:35 am #

      They are doing well. I’m not training them now but I do have something in mind for later. I’ll have to keep it quiet for the time being, but when the time is right I’ll let you know.

  2. Angela October 27, 2012 at 10:12 pm #

    genius idea, great imagination too!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 256 other followers

